PIONEER MOTORCYCLE CLUB Inc.

Trophies and Cups

The Bonnington Cup

History Presented in 1917 by Cecil Bonnington for the Most Points in Competition. This is The Pioneer Motorcycle Club's

premier trophy.

Purpose Awarded to the rider gaining the most points in all events the club run. Open to all grades and classes.

Rules

(1) All observed trials events the Pioneer Motorcycle Club runs shall be considered as long as they cater for all grades

and classes.

(2) Points are awarded as set out in paragraph 23-6-7 of the New Zealand Auto-Cycle Union General Competition

Rule Book. I.e.: 20 for 1st, 17 for 2nd, 15 for 3rd etc.

(3) The trophy shall be awarded jointly if 2 or more riders score the same total of points.

Winner Ross Bristol

The Laurenson Cup

History Presented by Angus Laurenson in 1946 for the Winner of the "Championship" Section for Sporting Trial.

Purpose Winner of the Experts Grade Pioneer Trials Championship.

Rule To qualify for this cup the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of a minimum of 4 one day observed trials

compatible with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Competition Rule Book.

Winner Blake Fox

The PMC Intermediate Cup

History Bought by the Pioneer Motorcycle Club in 1992 for use as the Intermediate Grade Championship Trophy.

Purpose Winner of the Intermediate Grade, Pioneer Trials Championship.

Rules To quality for this cup the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of minimum of 4 one day observed trials

compatible with rule 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Competition Rule Book.

Winner Ross Bristol

The PMC Clubman Cup

History Bought by the Pioneer Motorcycle Club in 1993 for use as the Clubman Grade Championship Trophy.

Purpose Winner of the Clubman Grade, Pioneer Trials Championship

Rules To qualify for this trophy the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of at least 4 one day observed trials

events compatible with rules 23-6 and 238 of the NZACU General Rule Book

Winner Richard Cripps

The Presidents Cup

History Presented in 1992 by Don Clarkson for the Winner of the Presidents Class of the Pioneer Trials Championship.

Purpose Winner Presidents Class, Pioneer Trials Championship

Rule

(1) To qualify for this trophy the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of at least 4 one day observed trials

events compatible with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Competition Rule Book.

(2) To ride in the Presidents Class a rider must be 40 years of age or over.

Winner Mike Elliott

The Mitchell Cup

History Originally presented in 1940 by H. Mitchell for the Competitor Gaining the Most Points in Gymkhana Events this

cup has been used as the Novice Grade Championship Trophy for many years.

Purpose Best result by a Novice Rider in the Pioneer Trials Championship

Rules

(1) A novice rider is one who is in their first three years of trials riding, and riding the B line in the Clubman sections.

(2) To qualify for this cup the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of a minimum of 4 one day observed trials

compatible with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Rule Book.

Winner Christine Thompson

The Peter Bennett Cup

History Presented in 1950 by P. Bennett for the Best Performance in Trials by a First Year Competitor.

Purpose Best Performance in the Pioneer Trials Championship by a First Year Competitor.

Rules

(1) Only awarded to riders in their first year of trials competition.

(2) The rider must be competing in a grade or class which uses the B line of Clubman sections.

(3) To qualify for this trophy the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of a least 4 one day observed trials

compatible with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Rule Book.

Winner Christine Thompson

The Blandford Cup

History Presented by Mr and Mrs Blandford in 1951 for the Aggregate Points Winner Under 19 years of age in Trials and

"Safe Rider" Competition.

Purpose Most Points by a rider under 19, Pioneer Trials Championship

Rules

(1) To qualify for this cup the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of minimum of 4 observed trials compatible

with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Rule Book.

Winner Matt Dalzell

The France Cup

History Presented in 1947 by Mr & Mrs LA France for the Competitor Under 21 years of age gaining the most points by

Gymkhana events. It has been used for the Best Junior Rider.

Purpose Most Points by a Junior, Pioneer Motorcycle Club

Rules

(1) A Junior rider shall be as defined in paragraphs 28-3-5 to 28-3-11 of the NZACU General Competition Rule Book.

(2) To qualify for this cup the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of minimum of 4 observed trials compatible

with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Rule Book.

Winner Matt Dalzell

The Whyte Cup

History Presented by Mr & Mrs Whyte in 1947 for the Woman gaining the most points in Gymkhana events it has come

to be known as "The Ladies Cup"

Purpose Woman gaining the most points in trials.

Winner Shirley McDonald

The Hallie Cup

History Presented by Roy and Sandra Hallie in 1994 for the Winner of the Twin Shock class at the Club Championship.

Purpose Winner of Twin Shock class.

Winner Jon Hainsworth

The BSA Shield

History Presented by Skeates & White Limited in 1950 for the Best Performance on a 125cc in Trials.

Purpose Best Performance on a 125cc Machine in the Pioneer Trials Championship.

Rules

(1) To qualify for this trophy the Pioneer Trials Championship must consist of at least 4 one day trials compatible

with rules 23-6 and 23-8 of the NZACU General Competition Rule Book.

(2) The rider must complete at least 80% of the Championship Rounds on a 125cc machine

Note: Due to this size engine not now being ridden in Trials the committee, in 2005, decided that it will go to the

person with the closest size engine to 125cc.

Winner Stef Downes